Advisory Board




Feedback Loop

Join email lists


Advisory Board

Thomas J. Biersteker is the Henry R. Luce Professor of Transnational Organizations in the Department of Political Science and the director of the Watson Institute for International Studies at Brown University. He is the author/editor of five books, including State Sovereignty as Social Construct (Cambridge University Press, 1996). He is currently conducting research on approaches to theorizing world order, on sovereignty and private authority in the international system, and on targeted financial sanctions.

Wendy Hui Kyong Chun is an assistant professor in Brown's Modern Culture and Media Department. She is currently working on a book titled Sexuality in the Age of Fiber Optics. A student of both systems design engineering and English literature, Chun has combined these disciplines in her exploration of the internet and fiber optic networks.

Ronald J. Deibert is an associate professor of political science and the director of Citizen Lab at the University of Toronto. He is the author of Parchment, Printing, and Hypermedia: Communications in World Order Transformation and is currently writing a book on the politics of Internet security, titled Code Wars: Securing Global Civic Network. www.citizenlab.org

Mary Ann Doane is George Hazard Crooker University Professor of Modern Culture and Media and English at Brown University. She teaches film theory, feminist theory, and semiotic theory, and is currently completing a book entitled Technologies of Temporality in Modernity: The Emergence of Cinematic Time.

Robert Coover is Brown's T. B. Stowell University Professor, who is currently teaching on electronic writing and mixed media. Coover's first novel, The Origin of the Brunists, won the 1966 William Faulkner Award. His writings include the collection of short fiction, Pricksongs and Descants; a collection of plays, A Theological Position; and such novels as The Public Burning, Spanking the Maid, Gerald's Party, Pinocchio in Venice, John's Wife, Ghost Town, and Briar Rose.

Samuel G. Fulcomer is director of Brown's Technology Center for Advanced Scientific Computing and Visualization. A member of Brown's research staff, he also has held the position of associate director of the Center for Advanced Computing Research at the California Institute of Technology from 1997-1998. His principle academic interests are parallel computing architectures and high-performance networks.

Geoffrey Kirkman is associate director and a Watson fellow at the Watson Institute, as well as a fellow at the Berkman Center for Internet and Society at Harvard Law School. He was the managing editor of the Global Information Technology Report 2001-2002: Readiness for the Networked World. Kirkman’s research focuses on the role of information and communication technologies and social entrepreneurship in enhancing economic development in the developing world.

John Phillip Santos is program officer for the Media, Arts, and Culture unit at the Ford Foundation. Formerly he was a writer and producer of documentary films and other programs for PBS and CBS News. He is the author of Places Left Unfinished at the Creation of Time.

Andries van Dam was one of the Computer Science Department's founders and its first chairman. He was the director from 1996-1998 of the NSF Science and Technology Center for Graphics and Visualization. His research has concerned computer graphics, text processing, and hypermedia systems, and he has been working for over 30 years on systems for creating and reading electronic books with interactive illustrations for use in teaching and research.


Home | Input/Output | Team | Advisory Board | Concepts | Strategy | Press